Get a FREE web friend login to read private articles



Indigenous Scholarship winner announced

Payden Barrett from BGIS with Diversity Portfolio Group Co-Chairs Suellyn Ward &
Leanne Cluley, UNE Partnerships' Sue Crew and FMA Chair Kristiana Greenwood

The FMA and UNE Partnerships are proud to announce the inaugural recipient of the Indigenous Scholarship for the Diploma of FM is Payden Barrett, Maintenance Coordinator for the BGIS-Shell QC LNG project in central Queensland. Payden was excited to accept his scholarship at the Ideaction Conference Dinner on Monday 3 June 2019. 

"This diploma will open many doors for my future, either within the company or externally, to reach my goal of being an account manager,” said Payden.

Matt Osborne, Account Manager, BGIS, who supported Payden’s application said that “Payden’s drive, willingness to learn and commitment to the Facilities Management field make him a very worthy candidate for this scholarship.”

Nicholas Burt, CEO of the FMA, said, “Payden is clearly a very capable, well-liked and motivated member of the BGIS team. We hope the Diploma of FM helps him take the next step in his career.”

The Indigenous Scholarship is an annual program, open to FMA members who are of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander descent. It is part of the Association’s Indigenous Engagement Strategy, which was launched at Ideaction.Oceania last year. 

As Ideaction.2019 concluded on Tuesday afternoon, Steve Taylor, CEO of GJK Facility Services made a surprise announcement – that GJK Facility Services had decided to provide an additional Indigenous Scholarship to the runner-up, Kate Crothers from ISS Facility Services.

The Association congratulates Payden and Kate on their scholarships and wishes them well in their studies. The Diploma of FM is an online course, developed in conjunction with industry professionals, and designed for people already working in the industry.

The Association would also like to thank UNE Partnerships and GJK Facility Services for their generous support of this initiative. Thanks also to the FMA Diversity Portfolio Group Co-Chairs Suellyn Ward and Leanne Cluley for their hard work in setting up the Indigenous Scholarship, and to the judging panel members, Sue Crew, George Stamas, Nathan Maher and Greg Davison.

“Working with UNE in establishing the scholarships and the applicants has been a pleasure,” said Suellyn and Leanne. “We look forward to witnessing the progress of Payden and Kate as they complete their diplomas and the ongoing benefits to their career development.”

Submissions for the 2020 Indigenous Scholarship will open in March 2020.